Coober Pedy
Opal Capital of the World

The Great Breakaways Bolt

Event Type Sport
Event Focus Fun Run
Event Reach All
Event Scope Local Community
Dates 23/05/2015 to 23/05/2015
Start Time 8.00am
Host District Council of Coober Pedy
Other: 08 8672 4600 Other

Latest News - The Great Breakaways Bolt

A casual conversation between two local Coober Pedy girls, Jayde Frew & Melissa Rosewarne, resulted in The Great Breakaways Bolt. Jayde's initial idea was to run 35km to the Breakaways from Coober Pedy as a personal challenge. Then Melissa suggested that Jayde should raise money to complete the challenge and donate to a good cause. Knowing that Tanya Lauder had been trying to raise money for a new playground, the chat between the two girls soon evolved into the idea of a marathon style fundraising event. This would involve the whole community with donations and secured sponsorships to raise funds for a new playground in town.

Early September 2009 became the target for the event to coincide with Father's Day, when traditionally the community gets together for a special day to honor dads.

The Great Breakaways Bolt marathon style event travels from the Breakaways, along the Dog Fence down the Kempe Road (road to Oodnadatta) and finishes at the Town Oval where the event is wrapped up with a BBQ and band.

Participants in the 'Bolt' can either walk, run or ride the distance as a personal challenge or as a group walking, riding or running a portion of the distance together, doing either 5, 10, 15, 20 or the full 35km. 

Participants are expected to gather sponsorship from family, friends, work collegues or organisations to complete the distance they have nominated. The money raised will go to a community group or cause that has been chosen by the 'Bolt' Committee by way of application in writing.

The Bolt will be run on 23 May 2015 so if anyone would like to participate or volunteer in this event or would like more information on the 'Bolt', please contact Clair Alford at the District Council of Coober Pedy on (08) 8672 4600 during office hours or email

Breakaways Bolt Entry Form(226 kb)

Breakaways Bolt Info(289 kb)


2009 Winners

Male Runners
1st Grant Maxwell - time 3.35
2nd Jayden Watts – time 3.41
3rd Warren Slater – time 3.47

Male Cyclist
1st Luke Kenny – time 1.49
2nd Chris Holder – time 1.51
3rd Damien Clark – time 2.07 

Cycle Others
1st Female Azharulla Kyrtzaliotis – time 3.22
1st Child Arthur Kyrtzaliotis – time 3.21
2nd Child Peter Kyrtzaliotis – time 3.21

2010 Winners

1st Male Cyclist – Ilias Katsapouikidis
1st Female Cyclists – Caris-Haf Britton
1st Child U’16 Cyclist – Tie between Dylan Orvad, Jimmy Bunting & Arthur Kyrtzaliotis
1st Male Runner – Scott Kay
1st Female Runner – Janelle Inkster

2011 Winners

1st Male Cyclist – Patrick Houweling
1st Female Cyclist – Nicole Harry
1st Female U16 Cyclist – Caris-Haf Britton
1st Male Runner – Cleve Daniels
1st Female Runner – Kerrin Gale

2012 Winners

Female Cyclists
1st Nicole Harry – time 1.56
2nd Stacey Mibus – time 2.55
3rd Markeeta McLeod – time 3.28

Male Cyclists

1st Kyle Aitken – time 2.05
2nd Joshua Britton – time 2.05
3rd Philip Carlson – time 2.12

Male Runner
1st David Busuttil – time 2.45
2nd Rick Ullianich – time 2.55
3rd Matthew Kerley – time 2.57

Female Runner
1st Penny Burke – time 3.57
2nd Joanne Bathern – time 3.59
3rd Julie Sesnan – time 4.25

Child Male Cyclist
Arthur Kyrtzaliotis – time 2.17 

Child Female Cyclist
Caris-Haf Britton – time 2.17

2013 Winners

Male Cyclists

1st Glenn Clarke – time 1.18
2nd Joshua Britton – time 1.19
3rd Damien Bachmann – time 1.22 

Male Runner

1st Jacques Neethling – time 3.02
2nd Brett Watson – time 3.21
3rd Matthew Armstrong – time 3.27

2014 Winners

3rd Male Cyclist: tie between Sebastion Clark, Hugh Bulotano & Joshua Carboni, with time of 3hrs 28min
3rd Female Cyclist: Beverly Mason, with time of 4hrs 16min
3rd Male Runner: Clint Indelicato, with time of 4hrs 27min
3rd Female Runner: no third 
2nd Male Cyclist: Peter Kyrtzaliotis, with time of 2hrs 19min
2nd Female Cyclist: Amandine Bachmann, with time of 2hrs 21min
2nd Male Runner: Philip Woodward, with time of 3hrs 43min
2nd Female Runner: Susie Boyd Brown, with time of 4hrs 15min
1st Male Cyclist: Damien Bachmann, with time of 1hrs 43min
1st Female Cyclist: Caris-Haf Britton, with time of 2hrs 00min
1st Male Runner: David Busutil, with time of 2hrs 36min
1st Female Runner: Tahnee Bensen, with time of 3hrs 43min

Bolt Gallery 2014

Bolt Gallery 2013

Bolt Gallery 2012

Bolt Gallery 2011

Outback, South Australia
Top of Page
Hutchison Street, PO Box 425, Coober Pedy SA 5723 | FREECALL: 1800 637 076
Ph: 08 8672 5298 | Fax: 08 8672 5699 | Email:
Page URL: